The Rag Maid

Catherine Cookson



When Millie's mother abandons her one late afternoon in 1854, fate brings the seven-year-old to Aggie's door - and life will never be the same for either of them.

Known locally as 'Raggie Aggie' for her business of trading rags and old clothes, the older woman knows the dangers waiting for such a strikingly pretty girl left alone in their rough area of Newcastle, and sees no other option but to take her in.

The unlikely pair soon form an unexpectedly strong bond. But there will be obstacles in their paths - will their friendship survive? Whatever happens, their relationship will change their lives for ever...

Catherine Cookson was the original and bestselling saga writer, selling over 100 million copies of her novels. If you like Dilly Court, Katie Flynn or Donna Douglas, you'll love Catherine Cookson.

What will you learn from this book

  1. Strong Female Characters: Cookson's books often feature strong and resilient female protagonists who overcome challenges and adversity.

  2. Social Issues: The author addresses various social issues such as poverty, class struggle, and discrimination, providing insights into the hardships faced by the working class.

  3. Complex Relationships: Cookson delves into the complexities of human relationships, portraying characters with depth and emotional nuances.

  4. Historical Context: Many of Cookson's novels are set in historical settings, offering a glimpse into the culture, traditions, and struggles of the time period.

  5. Redemption and Forgiveness: Themes of redemption, forgiveness, and second chances are common in Cookson's works, showing the transformative power of love and compassion.

  6. Resilience and Determination: The characters in Cookson's books often exhibit resilience and determination in overcoming obstacles and pursuing their dreams.

  7. Community and Support: The importance of community and support networks is highlighted, showcasing how people come together to help one another in times of need.

  8. Character Growth: Cookson's characters experience growth and development throughout the story, learning important life lessons along the way.

  9. Injustice and Advocacy: The author sheds light on injustices within society and advocates for change, encouraging readers to reflect on social issues and their impact on individuals.

  10. Hope and Optimism: Despite the challenges faced by her characters, Cookson infuses her stories with elements of hope, optimism, and the belief in a better future.

Language English
ISBN-10 055217405X
ISBN-13 9780552174053
No of pages 432
Font Size Medium
Book Publisher Corgi Books
Published Date 05 Oct 2011

About Author

Author : Catherine Cookson

10 Books

Related Books